Scholarships & Awards

The AGC of Michigan is proud to recognize the outstanding performance of it's members in safety, education, training, innovation, partnering, and the work of the entire project team.

Apprentice of the Year

Apprentices of the Year 2014

Apprentices of the Year 2014

The "Apprentice of the Year" award is given to the top apprentice bricklayer, carpenter and operating engineer in the state. In addition to an award, the apprentices receive a cash award of $1,000 each. This award is co-sponsored by the AGC of Michigan, BAC Local 2, Carpenters Apprenticeship & Training Fund and the Operating Engineers Local 324 Apprenticeship & Training Fund. Recipients of this award must demonstrate superior achievement in the following areas: Attendance and punctuality on the job, outstanding craft mastery and productivity, leadership skills and teamwork, safety awareness, spirit of competitiveness, commitment to their craft, employer and the construction community. The awards are presented at the AGC of Michigan's Annual Meeting (mid February).

Cornerstone Award for Training Excellence

The Cornerstone Award was created to award companies that have demonstrated outstanding records for advancing the quality of their employees through training. The Award recognizes two companies – a Regular Contractor member and a Specialty Contractor member. Winners of the Cornerstone Award receive an attractive trophy suitable for display and the winning companies’ outstanding training programs will be featured in the Michigan Constructor magazine with a circulation of more than 3,800 industry representatives in Michigan. The marketing possibilities from achieving this prestigious award are numerous.

Keystone Award for Education Excellence

The Keystone Award for Education Excellence honors exceptional and innovative professional development programs for construction supervisors, managers and executives. Programs considered offer education to construction site foreman, supervisors, superintendents, project engineers, project managers and/or other construction executives. Applicants must demonstrate how their program enhanced performance, improved productivity, increased professionalism, and/or contributed to company-wide and/or job site success. Program feedback and/or commentary from those completing your program could help distinguish nominations.

Michigan Outstanding Safety Performance Award

Winners of the safety awards are determined by comparing the injury incident rate of each company. The injury incident rate is based on the the number of injury cases a firm experiences during the award year, as it relates to the total amount of work hours generated. Awards are broken into two categories, General Contractor and Speciality Contractor, which are divided into divisions based on the total work hours.